Notify
Tools

Speer bullets
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Jon2
posted
Dear all

Just recently got a deal on some Speer bullets but I have never used Speer before.

Anyone out there got any opinions from direct experience? I am looking for comments about accuracy really.

The ones I have are 7mm 160 grn boat tail but I would welcome any comments from anyone using any Speer bullets.

In terms of performance on game I will assess that myself at some point.

Anyway without waffling on I am interested in hearing any experiences anyone has about Speer bullets in general.

Thanks

JB

Posts: 596 | Location: Cheshire, England | Registered: 06 March 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Those Speer BT are great on paper, but very soft on game.

Remember, forgivness is easier to get than permission.

Posts: 3993 | Location: Hudsonville MI USA | Registered: 08 June 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
i've used speer off & on for long time now. in general i haven't gotten the accuracy out of them that i get out of others. not all mind you, but in general. that said i sure wish they still made the little 257 60 gr spire point, my little martini cadet 256 loved that bullet

Posts: 13446 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The only Speer bulllets I've used are the TNT's in 22,25, 7mm and 30 caliber. All shoot exceptionally well. I can't say one negative thing about any of them, in any caliber I mentioned.
Also, I did test Speer's 87 gn Hot Core in 25 caliber, and also get great accuracy; like 3 shots at 100 yards in 1/2" groups, pleanty good enough for Michigan Deer.
Never tried any of the bullets you now have.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
I have never used Speer before.
Anyone out there got any opinions... looking for comments about accuracy really.