Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Handloading for 270 WSM
 Login/Join

posted
I have purchased two rifles in 270 WSM. First was a Win Mod 70 Coyote. Tried all factory ammo and several handloads. Checked bedding-good, checked rings, mts, and scope-good. Best group was just under 3". I sold it and bought Rem 700 SPS, same deal but was able to get a 1 3/4 group using Win Power Point factory w/ 150gr. What experience have any of you had with 270 WSM. Any conclusions about factory or handloads? Any secrets I should know? I have many years experience and usually get great results from my loads. Thanks

one of us
Picture of bowhuntrrl
posted Hide Post
I bought a Savage 116BSS in .270 WSM. I never tried any factory loads, but after spending time on Shortmags.org, I handloaded some Magpro and a 140 Nosler Accubond. I get .6-.7 MOA from the load. Start at about 72 gr of MAgpro and work up. You should get 3200-3300 fps with a 140gr plus good accuracy. Some guys have reported good results with RL22. What powders and bullets have you tried??? This seems to be an extremely accurate cartridge and not difficult to handload for. Play with seating depth, start .030" off the lands.

bowhuntrrl

Posts: 931 | Location: Somewhere....... | Registered: 07 October 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Doc
posted Hide Post
Please forgive my ignorance, but Remington makes a SPS?

I've heard of PSS.

I did not know they were making WSMs now.

Where did you find the Remington?

one of us
posted Hide Post