THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Mix and match press systems to get the best of all worlds?

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Mix and match press systems to get the best of all worlds?
 Login/Join

posted
I'm new to this and learning. It appears that with a lever gun in 45-70, there is a considerable safety issue with properly seating primers. If not fully seated, there is the possiblity of a recoil-induced, mag-tube discharge.

The other significant safety issue is related to the progressive press and that is ensuring that a proper, not a double, charge of powder is dropped.

So, with these two issues in mind, what progressive press would you folks suggest?

So far, my research has shown: The Dillons can be outfitted with their powder check alarm. The Hornady Lock-n-Load can be set up with a visual, but not audible, powder checker. And the RCBS has seemingly the best primer system in its APS system.

I don't know if the Hornady or the RCBS can use the Dillon powder alarm.

Nor have I been able to figure out what systems can use the higher quality powder throwers such as the Redding, Sinclair, and the Harrell.

Should I look to the Redding T-7 turret press instead? Am I correct in assuming that that press would give me more control over the process but not slow things considerably? Is this a correct assumption? Also, does anyone know if the Dillon Powder Check and the RCBS APS primer systems could be used with this press. Obviously, I think anyhow, the Redding Powder throwers would work. How about the Sinclair and the Harrell?

This is complicated! Help!!

It maybe seems like the best system would be the Redding T-7, the RCBS APS primer system, one of the high-quality powder throwers, and the Dillon powder check/alarm. Would all this work together?

Thanks for your help!