New
Find
Notify
Tools

223 problems
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I hope someone can help me here. I have been reloading for over 30 years and never had these problesm until I started to reload 223. I have a Ruger Stainless mini 14. I first used Lee dies and almost every time would crush the shoulder of the case mouth. I returned them and got my good faithfull RCBS dies and a factory collet crimp die. Shabang no more crushed cases and reloads fantastic. I have reloaded 55 gr FMJ with std primer and 25.5 grs of Varget. I also tried 55gr FMJ std primer and 25.5 of H335. When shooting either of these cases would either eject and not load the next round or eject halfway and jam. Same day loaded 40 rnds of factory remingtons and just blasted them all as fast as finger would move. No jam thru both clips and bot was barrell cooking then. What is the secret to reloading these? Am I using wrong powder, primer what? I do full length size the cases. Please someone give me a hint or answer. Thank you all in advance.

NRA Life Member

Posts: 69 | Location: caseyville, IL | Registered: 11 January 2012Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of graybird
posted Hide Post
Sounds like there isn't enough power to work the action correctly to me.

Graybird

"Make no mistake, it's not revenge he's after ... it's the reckoning."

Posts: 3722 | Location: Okie in Falcon, CO | Registered: 01 July 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
335 is a bit slow for the 223.
i use aa-2230 but 4198 through the 4895's is more suitable.

Posts: 5001 | Location: soda springs,id | Registered: 02 April 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
While I don't reload for any semiauto rifles, I believe the RCBS small base dies are made for semiautos.

Posts: 283 | Location: SW Oregon | Registered: 12 June 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
H335 sure isn't what I'd consider a slow powder for the 223.