THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Which Lee dies? (Pacesetter 3-die set or Deluxe 3-die set)

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Which Lee dies? (Pacesetter 3-die set or Deluxe 3-die set)
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm new to reloading and am wondering which of the subject die sets would be the better way to go. I've never reloaded a case yet, but am in the process of putting together an order for components. Can anyone tell me which of the products below would be best for a beginner? There is little cost difference between the two.

Lee Pacesetter 3-Die Sets include the exclusive Lee Factory Crimp Die, Full Length Sizer Die and Bullet Seater Die.

Lee Deluxe Rifle 3-Die set includes a collet neck sizing die, full length sizing die and bullet seating die.

Any and all help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

one of us
posted Hide Post
For some odd reasoning you don't bother to mention what cartridge this equipment is for.

So I'll give a wild-assed opinion and say get the kit with the crimp die in it if it's for a 416 Rigby. Get the kit with the collet die in it if it's for a 22-250 Rem. If it was me, I'd get the extra die anyway. They're inexpensive and work as advertized.

Posts: 4799 | Location: Lehigh county, PA | Registered: 17 October 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I'm currently shopping for set in .308 & .270 Win. I don't see a .416 in my future. Ever.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
They're cheap - get the Pacesetter set and add a stand-alone collet neck die. But then I use the FC die, which not everyone values....

Bruce

Posts: 55 | Location: New Zealand | Registered: 13 August 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Which is better to do without? The collet neck sizing die or the factory crimp die?

One of Us
posted Hide Post