Notify
Tools

25-06 pressure
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I made a very bad mistake reloading for my
25-06.
I have been reloading for 30 years and I guess was getting complancent.
I use 51 g of IMR 4350 for my reloads of 25-06 and about half way done with the number of reloads I was making .The can of powder got gone so I picked up another can of powder and I only looked at the colour of the can and kept on reloading.
I had picked up a can of IMR 4198 and did not notice.
A few days later my son shot one of the reloads that had one with the 4198 powder in his Sako 85 Finnlight.
The stock broke into 3 pieces,the magazine was destroyed and the action froze up and the gun ended up four feet away from where it was fired.
Luck was on my sons side and he did not get hunt. He got a few small cuts on his face,puff up nose and cut his trigger finger.
He said that it was a very loud bang and he did not know what happened until after the fact.
Can someone tell what pressure were generate when the gun was fired.( 51g of IMR 4198in a 25-06)
I beleived that the strong action the Sako 85 save my son from getting hurt or worst
joe

Posts: 109 | Location: Nunavut CANADA | Registered: 21 June 2010Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ramrod340
posted Hide Post
quote:
Can someone tell what pressure were generate when the gun was fired.( 51g of IMR 4198in a 25-06)

Assuming a 110gr Hornady around 118,800psi

As usual just my $.02
Paul K

Posts: 12881 | Location: Mexico, MO | Registered: 02 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
ramrod
I was using Nosler 100 gr BT
joe

Posts: 109 | Location: Nunavut CANADA | Registered: 21 June 2010Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of waterrat
posted Hide Post
It must be a 25-06 thing!