New
Find
Notify
Tools

Quickload Question
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I'm just starting to learn to load my own. Have exercised all the individual stages on dummys so comfortable with using the tools.

I got Quickload (DAMN! but those folks are proud of that software package!) and have a couple of operational questions about it. I figure I'll work out min and max powder charges theoretically using the software simulator.

Question about chamber pressure readings. I notice the display has 4 different "zones" for chamber pressure with different colors that show up as the background color of the max pressure window and in the graph.

What is the meaning of those 4 colors? I expect from the color that anything in the "red" zone exceeds max safe CP. Is that correct? Should I avoid combinations that yield results in the red zone?

What about the magenta zone? What is the significance of chamber pressure in that range?

What about the yellow zone? What is the significance of chamber pressure in that range?

I'm asking here because I want answers from the users' perspective rather than the software publisher's.

Thanks in advance.

`

A wise man’s heart directs him toward the right, but the foolish man’s heart directs him toward the left.
(Ecclesiastes 10:2 New American Standard Bible)

Posts: 1400 | Location: Southeast San Antonio, TX | Registered: 05 August 2011Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of MickinColo
posted Hide Post
You have got to be kidding!

QL is a pretty dangerous program for newbes (Hell it’s dangerous enough in the hands of experienced reloaders). Have you bought any reloading manuals from any of the bullet manufacturers?

Posts: 2650 | Location: Lakewood, CO | Registered: 15 February 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of FOOBAR
posted Hide Post
Yes, Ed is proud of QL...I don't blame him, it is an excellent predictive program and I've have/used just about every internal/external ballistics programs that have come down the pike since the late 50's.