Find
Notify
Tools

Sonchem Powder Equivalents
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of Russell E. Taylor
posted
Among the powders available from Norma, IMR, Accurate Arms, Hodgdon, Alliant, Vihtavuori Oy, and Winchester... which ones would be roughly equivalent to those available from Sonchem?

Thank you.

Russ

Posts: 2982 | Location: Silvis, IL | Registered: 12 May 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Zero Drift
posted Hide Post
Russ - It is difficult to really compare one powder burn rate to another. There are approximations, however, it is not advisable to arbitrarily substitute charge weights. I have never seen somchem outside of RSA, so I have no experience with it.

Here is the somchem web site http://www.somchem.co.za/

Posts: 10780 | Location: Test Tube | Registered: 27 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Russ,
Hey, no patronizing or precautionary words needed. I know from whence you speak. It is a good idea to compare the powders as best we can, so as to communicate with our RSA brethren.

The book by Swan, Botes, and Smit, _Hunting Africa, a Practical Guide_ (first edition, 2000)has a table on page 81 that purports to show "approximate equivalence within 5%," from fast to slow.

S321 ~ AA2230 ~ Norma N201

S335 ~ IMR3031 ~ AA2460 ~ RWS R902

S341 ~ IMR4895 ~ BLC-2 ~ AA2495 ~ W748 ~ N203 ~ ADI AR2206 (sic)(should be AR2208)

S365 ~ IMR4350 ~ H205 ~ AA4350 ~ RL10 (sic) (must be a typo for RL19) ~R904 ~ AR2209

S385 ~ Norma MRP ~ AR2213

I cannot vouch for these equivalencies within 5% burn rate, that would require some study, and you see I have found one typo in the table at first glance, but that is what the book says.

Isn't there a new powder out called RL-10? I do think it is faster than what the typo says.

[ 08-01-2002, 15:04: Message edited by: DaggaRon ]

Posts: 28032 | Location: KY | Registered: 09 December 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
DaggaRon: