Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

problems with loads for new rifle
 Login/Join

posted
I am new to reloading. My brother loved to reload and did all of our reloading, but he died suddenly last year. Now I'm trying to pick up the slack. I got back a rebarrel job I had done and have started to get ready to shoot it. Before he died he had loaded new brass I ordered, they were full length resized and bullet just seated. When I got the rifle I seated the bullet to fit the magazine and attempted to chamber it but was unable to close the bolt more than half way. After seating the bullet deeper with the bolt not closing any further I stopped. Any suggestions?

One of Us
Picture of woods
posted Hide Post
Welcome to the forum.

Blacken the tip of one of the bullets with a magic marker. Make sure and get the black on the ogive where the bullet will first touch the lands. Chamber the bullet and look for marks on the bullet left by contact with the lands.

Also measure the OAL and then measure again after chambering to see if the chamber seated the bullet further.

One other thing, since you say these are new cases, check the headstamp on the brass and make sure you have the correct brass for the caliber.

If your bullets are not hitting the lands and you have the right cases then there is some kind of mechanical or physical anomaly in the chamber. If the gunsmith who installed the barrel is available take the rifle and the loaded rounds to him.

Chinese Proverb: When someone shares something of value with you and you benefit from it, you have a moral obligation to share it with others.

Posts: 2750 | Location: Houston, Tx | Registered: 17 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
pull the bullets and resize the cases again,you might need to screw the sizing die down a litttle more.

Posts: 82 | Location: az | Registered: 26 April 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
1 Check for obstructions.