New
Find
Notify
Tools

Beginners reloading kit
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Once in a while the question comes up as to which reloading kit a beginner should buy. There are usually lots of suggestions but the general thread is "don't buy a kit." Most people reason that you can get better gear and spend less money by shopping around and getting stuff from a range of manufacturers.

I'm a beginner myself but have most of what I really need, and in truth if you eliminate all the gadgets it isn't actually that much. I wonder if it might be useful to have a sticky thread, perhaps under the management of a moderator, which contains a list of equipment that is generally considered good and necessary. It would be such a help to the beginner and while we would never get everyone to agree I'm sure we would get some sort of consensus. Perhaps there could be several lists for high volume, low volume, budget, etc.

For the low volume budget user I would propose the Lee Zip trim with shell holder/cordless drill chuck as a good value and excellent way to trim rifle cases. I also like my Lee Autoprime. So, to get things going I would propose them for the list.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Everyone has their idea of what is best. If a newbie has a mentor, he's a leg up because the mentor can help him with his selections. If he is breaking totally new ground, then a kit is not a bad idea.
I don't see in the threads I've read that buying a kit is a bad idea but rather which kit is best to buy. And what level kit. Me personally, I've reloaded for over 40 years and still cannot see a reason for having one of the monster presses that cost in excess of $200.00.