THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Is it necessary to use the expander ball in Type S bushing neck sizer?

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Is it necessary to use the expander ball in Type S bushing neck sizer?
 Login/Join

posted
Hello I'm new to neck-only sizing and about to try my first once-fired batch with 270 Redding Type S neck sizer with 302 bushing. The die comes with the decapping pin and with the expander ball.

I tried to size the first case. I felt the pressure on the down-travel of the case - after it got sized by the bushing. I think it was the case neck being expanded.

What is the reason then to use the bushing and the expanser ball in the same setup? Can i get away with just using the bushing?

My goal is too avoid the neck pull, so it does not cause the neck run out.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
If you have turned the necks for uniform thickness, it isn't necessary. If the necks are un-turned you should use the expander ball so that the uniformity is from the inside out, otherwise you will lose considerable concentricity. Personal experience speaking here...

Posts: 665 | Location: NW Colorado | Registered: 10 December 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Fjold
posted Hide Post
I decap on a dedicated decapping die and don't use the expander ball at all.

Frank

"I don't know what there is about buffalo that frightens me so.....He looks like he hates you personally. He looks like you owe him money."
- Robert Ruark, Horn of the Hunter, 1953

NRA Life, SAF Life, CRPA Life, DRSS lite

Posts: 12713 | Location: Kentucky, USA | Registered: 30 December 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post