New
Find
Notify
Tools

380 reloading secrets
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have pondered teaching this old dog new tricks. I have been reloading for many years, but think I can update my ways. If anyone reloads 380 acp please tell me. What bullet is best? Primer? Powder? Also on crimping, taper crimp? How tight? I use factory crimp die. Any ideas or experience will be helpful. Thank you in advance

NRA Life Member

Posts: 69 | Location: caseyville, IL | Registered: 11 January 2012Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
The first rule of freeloading a 380 is to get a big net to catch the empties. For every ten minutes of shooting at least two hours are spent searching for the empty cases.

Posts: 1421 | Location: WA St, USA | Registered: 28 August 2016Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I used red dot in mine along with almost any bullet. Not much different then loading anything else.

Posts: 19621 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
i like 90 gr bullets, bullseye powder, any primer and a very slight taper crimp

Posts: 13462 | Location: faribault mn | Registered: 16 November 2004Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I cast my own 100-grain RN bullets from a Hensley and Gibbs #S55 mould, and run them with 4.5 grains of AA %5, lit with a CCI-500 or Winchester SP primer. Seat them to where they fit the magazine and let the good times roll.

I have yet to find a blow-back style pistol this is not very accurate in, and they all eat it with relish. My personal pistols are a stainless PPK and a Baikal (Russian) Makarov, both in .380.

Posts: 4748 | Location: TX | Registered: 01 April 2005Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post