New
Find
Notify
Tools

70 gr. Barnes TSX in AR-15
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I've recently built an AR-15 w/ a rock river arms 20" varmint upper 223 caliber w/ 1 in 8 twist barrel. It shoots 75 gr HP match bullets into 1/2" at 100 yds.

So, I Picked up some 53 grain and 70 gr. Barnes Triple shocks in .224 caliber today. The 53 grainers don't look like there will be a problem with overall length. The 70 grainers look awfully long. Has anyone tried the 70 grain triple shocks in an AR-15. If so did you have a problem with OAL, what OAL did you use, and were your loads compressed loads. Although I've considerable experience reloading for my Rem. 700 and H&R Varmint Ultra in 223, I'm a novice when it comes to reloading for an AR. Any help or advice will be appreciated.
GWB

Posts: 23752 | Location: Pearland, Tx,, USA | Registered: 10 September 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of browningguy
posted Hide Post
I just wanted to follow up on this to see if anyone had been able to develop a load for the 70 gr. TSX that works through an AR.

Browningguy
Houston, TX
We Band of 45-70ers

Posts: 1242 | Location: Houston, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I didn't do alot of work with my colt with a 1:7 twist but.....
It will not shoot anything smaller than a 68 grainer EXCEPT it shot the 53 grain tsx decent.
I really didn't do alot of load work with it but I was happy to see it liked it.
Remember the tsx's are very long for wt....perhaps a 53 grainer has a shank closely matching a 68 grain lead bullet.
I wouldnt' be crazy about the 70 grainer in the .223......I would rather have the speed of the 53....I think it will penetrate a deer broadside plenty well.

Posts: 2002 | Location: central wi | Registered: 13 September 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of browningguy
posted Hide Post