Find
Notify
Tools

Swift Match vs Norma vs Nosler Custom Brass
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Buglemintoday
posted
Which brass would you opt for when buying new brass?

I have no experience with any of these three. seem to see reviews showing they may be more consistent or overall better than the bulk winchester/remington brass.

"Let me start off with two words: Made in America"

Posts: 3326 | Location: Permian Basin | Registered: 16 December 2006Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Norma and Nosler are good, I have no experience with Swift.

Posts: 12 | Location: western nc | Registered: 05 November 2014Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've used multiple brands over the years due to spotty availability in NZ. Then tried Norma and since changed all cases in several calibres to Norma. Norma brass is quite consistent. Not perfect, but better than most. Read and heard many times that Norma brass is softer and wouldn't last long. I don't really keep track but some of mine has been loaded more than 10 times and is still going strong. I never anneal. I have a couple of batches of 30.06 Norma that I must have loaded 20 times. Apart from looser primer pockets the cases are still loadable and I'm still shooting them. Generally I load no higher, or slightly under, max loads. With other brands one of the things that led to rejected cases was split necks. I can't remember the last time I had a split neck with a Norma case. Reloading component costs in NZ are higher than in the USA ( lucky Americans ! ) and Norma brass is pricier than most but I think longer term it could work out cheaper, at least in my experience. I've been told the only brass better than Norma is Lapua which I have never used.
I believe Norma makes the Nosler Custom Brass, but others here could confirm or otherwise.

Hunting.... it's not everything, it's the only thing.

Posts: 2082 | Location: New Zealand's North Island | Registered: 13 November 2014Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post