New
Find
Notify
Tools

M1a loading
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Ive been reloading for around three years mostly for bolt guns. Recently I puchased a M1a NM and have read in the owners manual no reloads-of course. But they also threw in a write up on slam fires and the consequences. So my question is what do I have to do to insure that I dont blow up my rifle and or my face. Read on another site that I need a headspace gauge and need to make sure that cases are full lenth resized. I have Lee full lenth resizing dies but will I need small base dies? Any expierecned remarks and what equipment will I NEED? Will standard primers work or should I bye the CCI no 34's. Plan on using 147-155 gr bullets and Imr 4895 by the way. Thank you.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
You definatly want to use those "hard" CCI primers

Anything is too soft.

IMR-4895 would have been my first suggestion.

Extracting the chambered (but unfired) rounds from many different AR's has made me real nervous about using soft primers in military type rifles.

AD

If I provoke you into thinking then I've done my good deed for the day!
Those who manage to provoke themselves into other activities have only themselves to blame.

*We Band of 45-70er's*

35 year Life Member of the NRA

NRA Life Member since 1984

Posts: 4601 | Location: Pennsylvania | Registered: 21 March 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I can only tell you what works in my M1A, and that of everyone else I shoot with...
Win. primers,165 or 168 gn. bullets,40-41.5 gn IMR 4895, full length resized using a small base die. Brass trimmed to 2.010 or so. Out of literally thousands of rounds fired, I don't think my rifle has ever seen a factory load other than some U.S. National match rounds.
Your experience may vary...
Cheers

Posts: 953 | Location: Florida | Registered: 17 March 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post