New
Find
Notify
Tools

C.O.A.L. question
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am relatively new to reloading so I thought I should ask the experts.

I have started reloading .223 Remington loads mostly using 55 gr Sierra HPBT bullets. I have mixed brass which is Hornady, PCU and RP. I am using a RCBS RockChucker press and RCBS dies.

According to the reloading manuals, Brass length should be 1.760. All of my cases were 1.760 or less. There were some that were as short as 1.6 and there was a fair amount of variation in the case length. I did not trim them to the same length unless they were over the 1.760 limit. The seating die was adjusted as explained in the manuals to give me a C.O.A.L. of 2.240 for that bullet. That seemed to work pretty well initially, but the problem is that when I continued reloading and checked the C.0.A.L. the cartridges varied from 2.18 to 2.60. I adjusted the seating die to bring the long cartridges into spec but is it the variation in the original brass length that is leading to this problem or something else? Any suggestions as to how to achieve a more uniform O.A.L. would be appreciated. Checking the length of each finished cartridge and adjusting and readjusting the seating die does not seem to be correct.
Thanks

One of Us
Picture of BNagel
posted Hide Post
Bullet variation will prevent uniform COAL. Just see how they shoot. Trim length is typically 0.10 less than maximum -- saves having to trim every time a case is fired. Unless you have a benchrest gun, all you can do is get a rifle to shoot it's most accurate load well enough to satisfy your needs.

I'd separate brass by manufacturer and keep records of how many times each lot is fired/trimmed/reloaded.

Posts: 4882 | Location: Bryan, Texas | Registered: 12 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Hi Edod,