New
Find
Notify
Tools

Need Help
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm relatively new to reloading and ran into this. I resized some 7mag brass (full length). When I tried to chamber them into the gun they would not chamber. The brass goes in only so far. When removing them they have a scratch ring about 3/16" above the belt. When trying another batch of brass they chambered ok. New brass also ok. Please help.Thanks

Posts: 150 | Location: upper michigan | Registered: 27 January 2003Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
1. Make sure the dies are adjusted per manufacturers instruction.

2. Check case length with caliper -- s/b 2.50" or less.

3. Check overall length from case base to tip of bullets s/b 3.29" or less (2 & 3 are data for 7mm rem mag).

4. Measure OUTSIDE if case mouth, both just below the bullet. If it is not .315 you may have a maladjusted or defective seating die.

5. If none of this helps, you might want to check with die manufacturer. The good ones will work with you.

In general, try to make sure to be as accurate as possible.

one of us
posted Hide Post
If you have a reloading manual or two setting around, read the front section very carefully. There are several good books out there, Hornady, Lyman, Hodgdon, Barnes. All will help you figure out the problem you are having.

Posts: 263 | Location: Where ever Bush sends me | Registered: 13 July 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
what rifle are you loading for? Some semi-automatics have pretty tight chambers and require a small base sizing die. If you have calipers, measure the area just in front of the belt on a piece of brass that does not chamber, and compare it to the same area of one that does.

From the description of the "ring" that may be the part that is causing the problem.

Posts: 121 | Location: Arizona | Registered: 29 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post