New
Find
Notify
Tools

bullet seating
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I'm new to this reloading stuff and am trying a lot of different bullets etc. I'm getting frustrated adjusting the seating depth each time I change bullets. Is there a die that I could partially seat the bullet, measure the overall length and say I need to go .1" deeper, turn a dial on the die and go exactly .1" deeper without the "trial & error" I'm doing now? Thanks!

Posts: 54 | Location: Middle Georgia | Registered: 20 July 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Yup,there are many setups
You need a micrometer on the bullet seater.These dies cost a lot.relatively speaking.You also need 1 for each caliber.
I found the much simpler setup from Wilson the fastest and easiest.also seats the bullets straight.

sheephunter

Posts: 795 | Location: CA,,the promised land | Registered: 05 November 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by gahunter2:
I'm new to this reloading stuff and am trying a lot of different bullets etc. I'm getting frustrated adjusting the seating depth each time I change bullets. Is there a die that I could partially seat the bullet, measure the overall length and say I need to go .1" deeper, turn a dial on the die and go exactly .1" deeper without the "trial & error" I'm doing now? Thanks!