New
Find
Notify
Tools

Range Session....300WM,130gr TTSX's and RL15
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
This is the first rifle I ever bought myself back about 14 years ago. It was a Remington ADL Synthetic for $329.....It's seen some upgrades since then including a major overhaul by Remington because of overpressure damage caused by factory loads (before I started loading).

Anyway, when I received it back from Remington I tried a load with 168gr TTSX's and IMR4831......the best group was .9 so I decided to try the 130 TTSX's. I loaded Remington Brass with 64-69gr of RL15 with a COL of 3.340".

I was pleased withe the results as seen below. (I load 4 rounds of each and shoot a sighter....adjust the scope and fire the group)

The 69gr load is shooting .332" and 3,406fps average.

Bruz

"Honor,Courage and Character"

NRA Lifetime Member

Posts: 342 | Location: Jawja | Registered: 20 December 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have no experience with Barnes bullets (I'm a Nosler Partition fan) but I've read that they often lose the petals hitting an animal, if pushed too fast; couldn't it be the case here, a 130 gr out of a 300WM?

Posts: 1459 | Location: north-west Italy | Registered: 16 April 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by wildboar:
I have no experience with Barnes bullets since I've never used it (I'm a Nosler Partition fan), but I've read that they often lose the petals hitting an animal, if pushed too fast; couldn't it be the case here, a 130 gr out of a 300WM?

The deer around these parts just aren't that tough....Especially with a high shoulder shot.

Robert

Bruz

"Honor,Courage and Character"

NRA Lifetime Member

Posts: 342 | Location: Jawja | Registered: 20 December 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post