New
Find
Notify
Tools

Any suggestions for 444 marlin loads?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
Im new to reloading, I have finished loading my first load for satisfactory results(358 winchester).
I want to move on to my next round, the 444 marlin.
I will be reloading for a 444 marlin rifle, and it will be a deer/possibly bear gun at close range(100 yards or less).
I used 265 hornady factory loads in this rifle, but want to use a different bullet. It seemed like the Hornady was too "tight", it required a bit more effort to close the action then my other Marlin 336s. When I loaded the gun with remington 240 loads, the action closed easy.
So what else is out there, in the 250-270 grain range? I want to use a "rifle" bullet.

And if possible, I want to use Reloader 7 powder. I bought some when I was loading the 358 winchester, but that didnt work out- so if I can put that powder to use, that would be biscuit city. I realize that the "try the powders you have on hand" doesnt work out all the time, but a few of the books I looked at suggest reloader 7, so maybe I can put the powder to some use.
Any other suggestions of loads and powder would also be appreciated.

Posts: 156 | Registered: 02 September 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I don't know what other rifle bullets are available, but I tried a Keith-style 240 gr. hard cast sized to .431 in my brother's 444 last week. I couldn't chamber the round fully and the bullet stuck in the throat when I ejected the cartridge. I think this particular Marlin - and perhaps yours as well - has a very short and tight throat. Depending on what you find for other bullets, it might be worth looking into having the throat opened to .430 (if it isn't already) and extended slightly.

Jon Larsson - Hunter - Shooter - Reloader - Mostly in that order...Wink

Posts: 682 | Location: Western Montana | Registered: 24 February 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post