New
Find
Notify
Tools

Affordable but accurate .308Win bullet?
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I got my first set of .308 Win dies(Lee deluxe) and brass, and I will be reloading for a heavy barrel Tikka and a future Remington put-together 700 tactical rifle(Shilen 1-in-12 barrel).

What will be the bullet of choice that is affordable but accurate?

Posts: 638 | Location: O Canada! | Registered: 21 December 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
What do you want to do with this rifle?Is it for target only or will you hunt with it?

Posts: 3104 | Location: alberta,canada | Registered: 28 January 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm a newbie at this, too, but I found one .308 load that works well for me, and is inexpensive to put together.

I use:
-43gr of H335
-130 gr. Speer .308 Flat SP (an inexpensive bullet)
-Winchester brass (have not experimented with varieties here)
-CCI 200 large rifle primers (ditto)

Posts: 132 | Location: Idaho | Registered: 22 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I'm partial to the Speer 165 for inexpensive hunting, and the Sierra 165 boat tail for target shooting, though either bullet will work well in either application. 165 is kind of a "sweet spot" for ballistic coefficient, resistance to being blown off course by the wind, etc.

46 grains of Varget is a nice load. At least the one batch I tested has no variation with temperature, which is nice. Hodgdon greatly exaggerates their "temperature insensitivity" claim, but this is one combination that works well. I touch it off with CCI200 primers.

Posts: 2281 | Location: Layton, UT USA | Registered: 09 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I use 168 nosler j4's good price accurate and they kill anything from deer on down with no trouble. [Big Grin] Most likely work on elk but then I have only use serria matchkings on elk with no trouble.

Posts: 19621 | Location: wis | Registered: 21 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us