New
Find
Notify
Tools

Tried out my new rotary molly coating tumbler
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
[URL= ]A[/URL] [URL= ]B[/URL] It's the NECO kit.Good results on these 308 155 grainers.I save 50 dollars off a box of 500 by coating them myself.I also coat all my hunting bullets,Partitions,A-frames,TSX,etc...I coated these today.These are before and three hours later photos.

Posts: 11651 | Location: Montreal | Registered: 07 November 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Nitroman
posted Hide Post
$50 saved by doing them yourself? That is excellent savings, and you have the satisfaction of having done the work yourself. They look really good.

Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Posts: 1844 | Location: Southwest Alaska | Registered: 28 February 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Thanks,Nitroman.They would have more of a shine if I polished them with untreated media afterwards but I did not have some on hand.I used the lyman method before, but this is way allows me to coat more bullets each time in a tumbler(Diamond Pacific VR-6)that will last a lifetime.I coated around 250 at a time.It is a quiter way to coat too.

Posts: 11651 | Location: Montreal | Registered: 07 November 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Here is my home made tumbler. Easy to make from
salvage parts. I have plated 1000nds of bullets with this machine. The timer at $25 is the most expensive part.

Used washing machine 1/3Hp motor. A few 1/2' pullies and two 1/2" rods. several coffee tins,
Steel shot, and a Noma garden timer.

Fred M.
zermel@shaw.ca

Posts: 465 | Location: Canada | Registered: 25 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post