Find
Notify
Tools

High Pressure Signs ?
 Login/Join

<Dmacsimum Velocity>
posted
Well,
today I had a chance to go to the range and try some of my reloads through my Weatherby Vanguard in 300 Wby Cal. The loads consisted of the following:
*180 Rem CoreLokt's & 180 Comb Tech Part (Moly Free)
*Rem-Wby Brass
*Fed 215 Primers
*AOL= Heavy Crimp to Chanelure on Rem's, Lee fact crimp on Comb Tech's.
*IMR 7828 @ 82.0 grains which felt to be a compressed charge (No powder noise W/a shake either). *** Note IMR states 86.0 is MAX for the 180 Nos Partition and is compressed.

Guys, I have been reloading for about 16 years or so. I do not it all, and I'm probably far from it but, this is the first time I have experinced high pressures W/my reloads that caught me off guard, or at least I think? I normally have always been able to load at max, or at least 2 grains under max published laod W/O any excessive signs of pressure with my other rifles. My Wby Van is fairly new, but what gives?

Anyway, When I examined the brass I found that the brass head had embossed some of the features of the bolt face IE: the pressure extractor button, and some small areas of the bolt's surfaces. When I tried to lift the bolt after firing(s), it had more resistance than normal, but it was not real hard to turn. Also note that the brass did not stick to the inside of the chamber. The primer showed a little bit of cratering around the dent of the firing pin strike, but had no signs of primer flow, nor was it extremly flat. Recoil was heavier than I have felt before, but I was still able to shoot 1" groups off the bench at 100 yards.

I have read in reloading books that this is a very strong serious indicater of excessive pressure. I normally have worked up loads to see the primer get some what flat and stop there, or sometimes even back off .5 of a grain. This of course is done in the summer, so I can make sure a hot day will not ruin my day of shooting.