New
Find
Notify
Tools

Reloading for an A.R.
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I am just beginning to load for an A.R. and would like to hear others experiences. I have loaded for bolt rifles and single shots for a long time but never for a gas operated self loader. My first load is 26 grains of WC844 with a CCI small rifle magnum primer and a 52 grain Hornady BT Match Hollowpoint. This bullet has a cannelure. These were bought bulk at a gunshow as seconds. They have polishing media in the noses of some but they shoot quite well out of everything i've tried them in. DW

Posts: 1016 | Location: Happy Valley, Utah | Registered: 13 October 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Some useful info:

http://www.exteriorballistics....ics/gasgunreload.cfm

If the enemy is in range, so are you. - Infantry manual

Posts: 494 | Location: The drizzle capitol of the USA | Registered: 11 January 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I load my AR with 55 grain Nosler BT's pushed by AA2230 powder and a CCI small rifle standard primer. I do not use any type of crimp. 100 yard groups measure in the .300"

NRA Life Member
HHI Member
SCI Member

"get busy living... or get busy dying"

Posts: 103 | Location: Central Kentucky | Registered: 28 November 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Amamnn , thanks. The load I listed is made with GI Brass, GI surplus Powder for the AR and a civilian bullet made to shoot matches with an A.R. 26 grains and a 55 grain bullet was the recommended powder charge. Rando, thanks, I'll try your load, I would love to get .3 groups. I doubt I will with the 2 stage trigger on my rifle but you never know. This is going to be a fun and educational experience for me. I already like shooting it, kind of like a 10-22 for adults. DW

Posts: 1016 | Location: Happy Valley, Utah | Registered: 13 October 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post