New
Find
Notify
Tools

Pistol Resizing Question
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Just purchased a set of Redding Titanium Carbide dies for my as of yet purchased Ruger 40 S&W carbine. Read the literatue that accompanied the dies and found out you aren't suppose to full length resize the brass with the resizing die. Now I'm not an expert pistol reloader but I have reloaded for a 45 ACP and thought you were to always full length resize the brass. Now that I have found out otherwise, just how much of the pistol case should I be resizing? I am guessing just enough to cover the distance the bullet sits in the case. Is this a correct assumption on my part? Any thoughts from experienced pistol reloaders would be greatly appreciated.

Posts: 212 | Location: Longmont, CO | Registered: 30 July 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of El Deguello
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by Big Stick:
Just purchased a set of Redding Titanium Carbide dies for my as of yet purchased Ruger 40 S&W carbine. Read the literatue that accompanied the dies and found out you aren't suppose to full length resize the brass with the resizing die. Now I'm not an expert pistol reloader but I have reloaded for a 45 ACP and thought you were to always full length resize the brass. Now that I have found out otherwise, just how much of the pistol case should I be resizing? I am guessing just enough to cover the distance the bullet sits in the case. Is this a correct assumption on my part? Any thoughts from experienced pistol reloaders would be greatly appreciated.

While it is true that brass lasts longer the less you work it, I tend to full-length resize all pistol cases. I like pistol ammo that is loose enough to drop freely all the way into the chambers without any force other than gravity having to be applied.

"Bitte, trinks du nicht das Wasser. Dahin haben die Kuhen gesheissen."

Posts: 4386 | Location: New Woodstock, Madison County, Central NY | Registered: 04 January 2005Reply With Quote