Find
Notify
Tools

307/308 rcbs reloading die
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of thirtycal
posted
I was on Midway today and they list this die with both #'s.

I did some research and found the 307 is a rimmed version of the 308 and was used in Winchester 94 lever guns.

Is this die appropriate for loading the 308 or should I go with an X die which is specificlly for 308?

Posts: 156 | Location: NY | Registered: 30 December 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have used the same die to re-size both without any problems.
But as far as what make of die to buy that is up to you,Good Luck.

Posts: 1371 | Location: Plains,TEXAS | Registered: 14 January 2008Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of thirtycal
posted Hide Post
quote:
But as far as what make of die to buy that is up to you,Good Luck.

I gather you do not like the RCBS dies.

I've been reloading for 25 years and have never had an issue with RCBS dies.

I purchased the Lee dies a couple of years ago for my 223 and 8mm, because RCBS were out of stock.

Needless to say I will never purchase another Lee die, both those dies were replaced by RCBS.

Stuck cases broken decapper pins and so on, they were really garbage.

I have never had an issue with RCBS and they work perfect for me, I know there are better dies but the RCBS works for me.

Thanks for the input, have a Happy and Healthy New Year.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
quote:
I was on Midway today and they list this die with both #'s.

Wonder...maybe they know what they're talking about?

What Plaisman means is the brand really doesn't matter. Unless there is a specific feature about one brand you like. Anyway, they all work pretty much the same on average.

Stuck cases come from poor lubing, not the brand. Lee's decap pins are as tuff as they come and if you gonna reject every brand that you break a decap pin in you gonna run outta brands pretty soon. Needless to say, I suppose. ??