Find
Notify
Tools

IMR 7828
 Login/Join

One of Us
Picture of Paul Owens
posted
I'm new to reloading and just bought a pound of the IMR 7828 for my 7MM.Mag and 300Win Mag.How do you guys like this powder?
I also have a 22-250 and have some Varget ordered for it.
I loaded my first 38 SPL.shells today with Ramshot Zip 4.8 grains behind 125 grain Hornady XTP-HP and really liked the way it shot.
I think I'm really going to like this reloading hobby,but man is it hard to finding supplies.

Posts: 29 | Location: Pike Co.Kentucky | Registered: 29 April 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Grumulkin
posted Hide Post
Welcome and reloading is fun.

As for IMR 7828, I use it and like it but I've never used it for the cartridges you mention. I would thint it would work well though.

My 7mm Remington Magnum and 300 Winchester Magnum loads use RL-22.

Posts: 2911 | Location: Ohio, U.S.A. | Registered: 31 March 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Paul Owens
posted Hide Post
The Hornady manual I have lists the IMR 7828 for the bullets I'm wanting to use,but once I give it a try I'll let everyone know how it does.

Posts: 29 | Location: Pike Co.Kentucky | Registered: 29 April 2009Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of GunCat
posted Hide Post
Welcome fellow Kentuckian!

IMR7828 is my favorite powder in the 300 Winchester Magnum when using 180 grain bullets. It seems to work best near the maximum* charge weight.

* Disclaimer: Of course you'll want to begin with a documented starting charge and work up slowly

Steve Rose
----------
Rose Action Sports, LLC
www.roseactionsports.com

Posts: 189 | Location: Western Kentucky | Registered: 02 November 2007Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Doc
posted Hide Post
I know a hunter who uses this powder in his 7mag and it is his favorite.

Ted Kennedy's car has killed more people than my guns

One of Us
posted Hide Post