Find
Notify
Tools

62grain for .22 Hornet?
 Login/Join

posted
Hello all,
i'm new, so please be gentle.

I inherited a whole case of 62grain .223 bullets (just the heads)

I am new to reloading, and like to know if it's ok to use these bullets for my .22 Hornet brass?
Otherwise, it seems like a waste to throw them away.

If so, do anyone have data on reloading it?

Thanks in advanced.

one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
What kind of .223 62 grain bullets? (I wasn't aware that there was such an animal...)

Posts: 3282 | Location: Saint Marie, Montana | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I just checked the boxes. Sorry about the error, but it says:

Berger Match Bullets 22 Caliber (224 Diameter) 62 Grain Hollow Point

one of us
posted Hide Post
I think you will find the 62gr close to useless in a Hornet. Most Hornets I know of are rifled with a 1 in 16" twist. OK for 40-50gr bullets, but beginning to get unstable with 52's. Also, with that weight, velocities possible (with appropriate pressure) will be quite low. So you wind up with slow unstable bullet which equates to keyholing or tumbling. The 62's will not be fully stabilized even in a 1 in 12". Save them for a 1 in 7-9" .223.

Posts: 231 | Location: Republic of Texas | Registered: 19 June 2003Reply With Quote
<George Capriola>
posted
Curious,
I've tried 50 grain bullets in my Ruger, with a 1 in 14" twist barrel. The results were so-so, accuracy wise, so I really didn't try very hard to fine tune a load.
I'm quite sure the Hornet case won't hold enough powder to drive those 62-grainers fast enough to stablilze them, in a typical Hornet barrel.
I've had best results with 40 grain bullets, in both my Ruger and CZ.
Regards, George.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Hey curious22, I agree with the above. What I'd recommend you do is determine how much they are worth in your area and "swap" them out with a local Gun Shop for a more suitable bullet.