New
Find
Notify
Tools

Ackley Improved????
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am kinda new to all of this stuff and I have a question about AI cartidges. What exactly is and AI cartridge? I hear stuff like "the ackley treatment" etc. and I would just like to know what you guys are talking about.
Thanks

Posts: 1205 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 07 February 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Parker O. Ackley, experamenter and wildcatter.
Ackley Improvement: Minimise the body taper and increase the shoulder angle to increase the available powder room (more room=more powder=more velocity at the same pressure level). Some cartridges are better suited for "improvment" than others, as there is a 4:1 relationship between increased capacity and increased velocity (at the same pressure level) IE one with a large taper to the body (.030/inch) and a shallow shoulder angle (say 8deg) will show a much larger gain than one with a fairly streight taper (.004/inch) and a 30deg shoulder). One of the Ackley signature features is that factory ammo could be safely fired in his chambers.

PO Ackley wasnt the only guy doing this, Mashburn, Kilburn (the 22 K-Hornet is one of his), Roy Weatherby, Rocky Gibbs are just some of the others that were doing similar things.

A lot of yesterdays ammo designs need/needed help, but today many of the factory offerings duplicate what they did that the gains are much smaller now.

Posts: 2124 | Location: Whittemore, MI, USA | Registered: 07 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
And AI cases with less body taper don't grow in length as fast as the parent case; you won't have to trim as often. And that's why when I had two rifles re-barreled I decided the 223Rem AI and 338-06 AI would be just what the doctor ordered. And my gunsmith didn't charge any more for the chambering than with the parent reamer.

Posts: 4799 | Location: Lehigh county, PA | Registered: 17 October 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post