Tools

338 win mag and RL-19
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Hello, I am new to the 338 win mag. For the 225 grain bullets and RL-19:
Hornady #8 lists 73.3 grain max
Alliant web lists 78.0 grain max

The Alliant load seems aggressive. Anyone using it with Nosler Partitions?
Is it a highly compressed load?

Thanks,

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have to call BS on the Alliant data. I load 76 grains of RL-19 in my .338 with 200-grain bullets - it is maximum in my rifle and not compressed. I'd start three-four grains under the Hornady maximum data and work up carefully.

Posts: 677 | Location: Arizona USA | Registered: 22 January 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
The Nosler #7 manual lists Rldr-19 at 70.0 gr. for a min. and 74.0 as a max. for their 225 gr. bullet. I'd say that the Allliant data is a bit on the "aggressive" side.
As a side note, I use 73.0 grs. of Rldr-22 in my .338 WM with a 225 gr. bullet. I wouldn't go any higher than the Nosler book max.
Good luck
Bear in Fairbanks

Unless you're the lead dog, the scenery never changes.

I never thought that I'd live to see a President worse than Jimmy Carter. Well, I have.

Gun control means using two hands.

Posts: 1544 | Location: Fairbanks, Ak., USA | Registered: 16 March 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I have used up to 75 gr. of R-19 with 225 partitions. My regular load is 74. Alliant data uses speer bullets.

Posts: 304 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 12 February 2007Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
After you work up a load for your Noslers you might want to try the Barns TTSX 225's. Accuracy with the Noslers in my .338 is OK but the Barns are fantastic. I hope they work as well on elk as they do on paper.
C.G.B.

one of us
posted Hide Post