New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: Blue Dot Range Report: 7 x 57 / 140 gr SP
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
When shooting reduced blue dot loads does the angle of the round make a difference? IE shooting up or down? I live and hunt on some steep hills

These loads should carry over fairly well with a 7mm-08 should they not?

and wowwww,,,I just noticed that you used a large pistol primer not a rifle primer???? This keeps the pressure down?

Thanks for the info

Posts: 376 | Location: Western, NC, USA | Registered: 29 April 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Posey,

Yeah a large pistol primer or rifle primer work fine. Believe it or not, I see signs of higher pressure with a pistol primer over a rifle primer. Doesn't figure, but I am not an explosive expert.

Western NC is no more rugged than Western Oregon, believe me. The velocity of the round doesn't seem to be real sensitive to change, based on its position in the case. I would personally load a Large rifle primer in it, if hunting with it in hilly terrrain. The hotter spark won't hurt.

As always, work up in using this info. All rounds are different and all guns are different. Also note that I seat the bullets out substantially near the lands, as the Ruger rifles are long throated. Deeper seating will cause increase in presssure as you near max capacity.

Good luck if you try it.

Cheers and Good shooting
seafire

Posts: 2889 | Location: Southern OREGON | Registered: 27 May 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of TCLouis
posted Hide Post
I may be wrong, but from the work I have done with new shooters, muzzle blast and any recoil is an issue. It has always been my OPINION that one can get used to significant recoil, but it is a learned response and starting out with lower noise level helps advance the student(new shooter) much faster.