New
Find
Notify
Tools

Best Primer and powder for S&W 40cal
 Login/Join

Picture of M&Pguy40cal
posted
Hi I am new to reloading and would liek to know what teh experts suggest I use to reload for my 40 caliber S&W M&P. I have purchased ranier 155 bullets to reload with. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

one of us
posted Hide Post
I can't tell the difference between any of the small pistol primers. They all work.

Maybe I'm old fashioned, but I like Unique.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
There are nearly as many loads as there are people who will suggest a load. Best to buy a reloading manual and study up. www.ammoguide.com lists 11 loads for .40S&W using 155-grain Rainiers. All but one use VitaV powders; the lone exception is an Accurate Arms powder. So now you know which powder brand to buy. I can't give you the load here because I think the info on the site is copyrighted and they discourage publicizing the info for liability reasons. But hey, a scrip is just $18 a year for so, so much info and neato ballistic and cost tools that eighteen bucks is cheap...

Posts: 16534 | Location: Between my computer and the head... | Registered: 03 March 2008Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of TEANCUM
posted Hide Post
I'm liking Power Pistol in my Sig 40's with 155 and 180 grain bullets. You can get some great performance out of that powder with great accuracy and clean burning.

Work up the load that works the best in your shooter.

Posts: 1788 | Location: IDAHO | Registered: 12 February 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of fredj338
posted Hide Post
I don't shoot the 155gr, but the best powder for accuracy in my finicky 40s is WSF under 165gr & 180gr jacketed, plated or lead. Unique is a very close 2nd, but these are for midrange to full power loads. Those that load bunnyfarts may have something that works better for them. Also, any std small primer will do.

LIFE IS NOT A SPECTATOR'S SPORT!