New
Find
Notify
Tools

7.82 Lazzeroni Patriot
 Login/Join

<Sniper>
posted
I have been looking at this round and it looks promising. I was wondering if anyone has any first hand knowledge of it and your thoughts of the Lazzeroni line in general.

www.lazzeroni.com

<dcjs>
posted
hi sniper,
I have HEARD (but from a trustworthy source) that the lazzeroni brass is crappy.
anyway, what's the difference between the patriot and the .300WSM?

regards,

david

one of us
posted Hide Post
The 7.82 Patriot is based on a head size more similar to that of the .416 Rigby, approximately 0.580". The .300 WSM head is approximately 0.500". I have no personal experience with either, but a gentleman at my gun club has a Patriot and reports performance on par with the .300 WBY.

I think that Lazzeroni brass is manufactured by MAST(BeLL), which I find to excellent brass for my .416 Rigby. But Lazzeroni may have different manufacturing specs for their proprietary brass.

Posts: 1239 | Location: Golden, CO | Registered: 05 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I have both the Lazzeroni Patriot and a Lazzeroni 9.53 HellCat...a .375 based on the Patriot case. The are both extremely accurate. With respect to the brass I don't where you heard it was crappy, but the brass I have is superb. There were no burrs do take out of the flash hole and the primer pockets flat and square ...all you need to do is lube and size. I had to fire-form my .375 brass and in fire-forming 120 pieces of brass I didn't lose a one. When I reload I just bump the shoulder back enough for reliable feeding and I anneal my brass after 5 firings. A test lot of my brass has been fired 20+ times (anneals 4x) and they still work fine. The first thing you notice, other than how short the brass is, is that it's so heavy.