New
Find
Notify
Tools

Re: Case Trimmers
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Would someone be able to post me apic. of this lee and drill combo ??

Regards PC.

Posts: 7505 | Location: Australia | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I am looking for a new small batery powered drill right now. I have worn two drills out and the lee sizer system still works good. I like to size, trim deburr then while the case is in the base, I spin it and polish off the sizing lube with a paper towel. Paper towles are slightly abrasive and realy cleans up spinning brass and will take any smoke off the neck that made it past the tumbler. I have been using one cuter for several years. One of these post gave me a good Idea. Having several cutting bases makes sence. The hardest thin to do is change out the guage inserts on the cutter. MidwayUSA has all the parts.

Posts: 21 | Location: Houston, Texas | Registered: 27 August 2004Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I disagree with Atkinson re. case trimmers...he has a point
that perhaps the trimming is maybe not significant...but that's hard to judge by itself. I've done gunsmithing & the best gunsmiths I know say the same thing...precision=
accuracy, no matter what it is in rifles...including case trimming..the Gracey Case Trimmer was designed by Doyle
Gracey, a benchrest fellow of excellent reputation..and a
good machinest...case necks have a good effect on accuracy,
ask the pros who make case crimp dies to get good consistent
case neck tension, ask Hornadt who says even case neck annealing has importance since it makes consistent case neck tension...so how important is exact trimming of case necks? I'd say quite a bit of importance...and a good trimmer would make a difference. Of course those Idaho guys in the back woods don't have the acumen we Cody,Wyoming guys do with the great shooting complex, the
experts at Ballard Rifle Company, Rocky Mountain Cartridge