THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Accuratereloading.com    The Accurate Reloading Forums    THE ACCURATE RELOADING.COM FORUMS  Hop To Forum Categories  Guns, Politics, Gunsmithing & Reloading  Hop To Forums  Reloading    Stoney Point Gauge for oal compared to ather ways

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Stoney Point Gauge for oal compared to ather ways
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I've been using a Stoney Point gauge for a couple of years now and I thought I would try and compare it to some other ways of determining an oal. So I used the method of slightly bending the mouth of a spent case and closing the bolt on a case and bullet that was marked with a black magic marker. The oal of the case this way was about .050 longer than I come up with when I use the Stoney Point gauge.
What could cause such a large variation, am I being too gentle with the Stoney Point comparator? Or is the mouth of the spent case bent too severely to measure properly.
When I use the comparator I try to stop when I barely feel the lands and I can get a very consistent measurement, usually 10 different measurements will not vary .010.
I was wondering if I am missing some accuracy be not getting close to the lands but a little hesitant to try something that is this far from what I been doing. Any opinion is welcome

Posts: 189 | Location: Asheville NC | Registered: 24 February 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of Bob338
posted Hide Post