THE ACCURATERELOADING.COM FORUMS

Moderators: Mark
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Anyone have some Blue dot .30-06 velocities?
 Login/Join

posted
Hi everyone,

Just got back from the range with my first ever reloads for .30-06. I decided to go with blue dot since it seems to have a great following for accuracy, and I was not disappointed in that area. My best group out of a Browning A-bolt medalion (1 in 10 twist, 22" barrel)was with 24 gr behind a 125 gr Nosler Ballistic tip seated to an overall length of 3.270"

With one bad shot on my part out of 5, I had a group of 4 that I can cover with a nickel, so I think I will be loading more of that combination and 1/10 either way to see if I can tighten it up any more before playing with seating depth.

What I don't have, though is a chronograph (yet) since I am just getting started with this reloading thing...more or less to feed my wife's addiction to shooting all of the 9mm shells I load up. So...I am wondering if anyone has any velocity information on the combination I listed above or something relatively close.

I am looking to make this a good deer load and have found through a bit of research that if I get the round going too fast, it may become too explosive on impact rather than getting a good mushroom. I'd like to stay under 2800fps or so, and I am figuring I am, but some solid numbers would be nice if anyone has them.

Thanks in advance everyone!!

Steve

Steve

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Seafire may be a proponent of Blue Dot in rifle cartridges but Alliant powders is not. I called asked for data and they had none. They don’t give out data for cartridge/combinations they consider unsuitable. They told me they did not recommend using Blue Dot in these sort of applications because tiny changes (in components, etc) would create big changes in pressure. I don’t remember the exact quote but that was the gist.

one of us
posted Hide Post