New
Find
Notify
Tools

Question About Cases
 Login/Join

Picture of Belini
posted
I am new to reloading. I have some once fired factory cases from my .280. They appear to have a thin bright ring just above the head of the case. My reloading manuals say not to use cases with stretch marks in front of the web area. Funny thing is that most of the once fired cases from other guns I have seen show these bright rings as well. I cut one of mine open with a hacksaw and there appears to be no thinning on the inside of the case at this spot. Also there is a photo of a fairly finished case under "step 22" on page 53 of Nosler 5th edition that shows a bright ring on a -06 style cartridge.

Are my cases safe to load? Any thought would be greatly appreciated.

Belini

Posts: 11 | Location: Alberta | Registered: 11 March 2006Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of Rusty Marlin
posted Hide Post
This is normal. The case expanded to fill the chamber at firing. The case wall ahead of the web swelled out till it contacted the chamber, if you measure the dia over the ring and the dia over the web there will most likly be a .001 or so differnace too. As you cut one open and there is no thining of the case wall I would venture to guess that headspace is OK. Just PFS and load as normal.

Rusty's Action Works
Montross VA.
Action work for Cowboy Shooters &
Manufacturer of Stylized Rigby rifle sights. http://i61.photobucket.com/alb.../th_isofrontleft.jpg

Posts: 863 | Location: Northern Neck Va | Registered: 14 December 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
That's the test - when in doubt cut it open !

One of Us
posted Hide Post