Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

45-70 cases collapsing
 Login/Join

posted
I've been reloading bottleneck cases for over 25 years without a problem, but my first go at straightwall cases has got me stumped. Every time I try seating a projectile the cases just crush down and the bullet only goes in about 1mm. I'm using a Redding 3 die set as per the instructions. Projectiles are Remington 300gn sjhp. Does anyone know what I might be doing wrong?

Posts: 6 | Location: Darwin | Registered: 08 January 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
Are you belling the case mouth?

Posts: 3282 | Location: Saint Marie, Montana | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Yes, I've screwed the expander plug almost all the way down. I'll try posting pics of cases.

one of us
posted Hide Post
I have a feeling your sizer die may be closing that mouth too much or the bullets are oversized.

Never see that with straightwalled.

Posts: 459 | Location: Finksburg, MD | Registered: 20 December 2003Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Measured the various bits. The bullets are .457, the body of the expander plug is .456 and the flare at the top of the expander is .461

one of us
Picture of Ol` Joe
posted Hide Post
You aren`t crimping while seating the bullet are you?

------------------------------------
The trouble with the Internet is that it's replacing masturbation as a leisure activity. ~Patrick Murray

"Why shouldn`t truth be stranger then fiction?
Fiction after all has to make sense." (Samual Clemens)

"Saepe errans, numquam dubitans --Frequently in error, never in doubt".

Posts: 2535 | Location: Michigan | Registered: 20 January 2001Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Yep! thats exactly what I was doing! I usually lift the ram and then lower the bullet seater until it touches the bullet and then start adjusting from there. Now I realise this was crimping the cases! Have loaded a few now and its working fine, thanks.

one of us
posted Hide Post