New
Find
Notify
Tools

Handgun Powders
 Login/Join

one of us
posted
I am very new to reloading for handgun and need guidance. All my reloading has been for rifle or my Contender with rifle calibers.
I am now loading for .41 mag. and .45 LC. So far I am useing Bullseye and AA #5 and am not happy with how dirty they burn.
I have read Blue Dot burns very clean but don't see much data for these two cals. useing that powder. So far I used light charges with the AA #5 and plan to go work up closer to max to see if it burns better.
I am shooting 210 grain jacketed bullets from the .41 and 230 grain lead from the .45.

Posts: 622 | Location: PA. U.S.A. | Registered: 12 May 2002Reply With Quote
<Dan in Wa>
posted
You must be using light loads. Bullseye is a fast powder used in target loads and yes it is dirty. AA#5 is about like Unique and its dirty too at low pressure levels. In the .41mag. Blue Dot works good as do 2400, W296, AA#9. I don't load for the 45LC but Red Dot is supposed to work well with 250 cast bullets. Slower powders at higher pressures are cleaner with jacketed. Cast bullets with about powder are on the dirty side but cheap and accurate. FWIW Dan

one of us
posted Hide Post
I wouldn't worry too much about handgun powders burning "dirty". One swab with a patch will take care of that.

Unique is an extremely versatile handgun (as well as shotgun) powder, which can be used from midrange target loads to fairly stiff magnum loads. It's hard to beat as an all-around powder for virtually any handgun cartridge you load (maximum performance loads excepted).

Posts: 13245 | Location: Henly, TX, USA | Registered: 04 April 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post

Posts: 3282 | Location: Saint Marie, Montana | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
<El Viejo>
posted
Some of the dirt you see may be from combusting the bullet lube on cast bullets. When I switched to copper clad, cleaning got a whole lot easier.