Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

IMI brass
 Login/Join

posted
I'm new to reloading, started after Christmas, and I've produced some good shooting loads for my 308 already. Thought I'd branch out and start on some loads for my AR. I already had around a 1000 rds of factory loaded 55 grn, FMJ, IMI ammo and from what I had read, IMI brass was good to work with for reloading. My AR has a 16" SS barrel with a 1:8 twist. With the factory ammo, it's pushing them out at 3200 fps and shooting MOA, or pretty close to it, at 100. I took the once fired brass, fully resized them, trimmed to 1.75", removed the crimp, cleaned the primer pocket, cleaned the brass,and started with a minimum load and moved up. I'm using WSR primers, Hodgdon CFE223 powder, and Federal Fusion 62 gr bullets. Starting low with my charge, speeds around 2600 fps, then moved up progressively to the max load, pushing out at 3100 fps, I loaded 14 workups. Shooting at 50 yards, my shots all fall within about a 7" circle. If I grab five of those factory loads, I'll shoot a 1" group, again, at 3100-3200 fps. I feel like I'm chasing my tail. A co-worker suggested that I load up a group, using same recipe, just change the brass. I loaded five rounds, three were Win brass, one was RP, and one was FC. All five rounds were within a 2" group, with the RP and FC making a single hole. I'll list the info on both loads, the only difference is the brass. One with IMI, the other mixed as shown. And powder was individually weighed on digital scale.

IMI brass, trimmed to 1.75"
62 gr Federal Fusion SPBT
26.5 gr, Hodgdon CFE223 powder
Win Small Rifle Primer

1. 2837 fps
2. 2883 fps
3. 2890 fps
4. 2872 fps
5. 2865 fps
AVG-2869 fps
spread-53 fps

Mixed brass, trimmed to 1.75"
62 gr Federal Fusion SPBT
26.5 gr, Hodgdon CFE223 powder
Win Small Rifle Primer

1. FC brass, 2897 fps
2. RP brass, 2811 fps
3. Win brass, 2890 fps
4. Win brass, 2872 fps
5. Win brass, 2865 fps
AVG-2856 fps
spread- 86 fps