New
Find
Notify
Tools

Embarrassing Question
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I feel like I'm asking if I should unwrap gum before chewing it.......but here comes my silly question for the day:

Is there an IDEAL bullet seating depth?

I have been loading for the last 45 years and always seated my bullets by pushing them into the case just far enough that the bullet starts to touch the lands.......then seat them a tad more.
Nothing terribly scientific about it. Of course with some guns I had to modify this technique to fit the magazine box or facilitate feeding. But by and large this has been my method and it's worked fine.

Now that I've grown old and "smart" I've started measuring my seating depths and come to realize that I generally seat bullets way long according to factory "overall maximum length."

And when I seat bullets so the overall cartridge length meets factory specs, the thing looks stupid and seated too deeply to me.

Have I been a bad boy all these years or how important is it to pay any attention to these factory guidelines?

Color me dumb.

Posts: 19677 | Location: New Mexico | Registered: 23 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of ricciardelli
posted Hide Post
Sure is...

But it depends totally on the bullet you are using and the firearm you are using.

One size fits all is nice in flip-flops that you are wearing on the beach, but not in boots that you are planning on doing a 100 mile trek in!

Posts: 3282 | Location: Saint Marie, Montana | Registered: 22 May 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Factory specs gotta suit all guns. Your loads only gotta fit your guns. You ain't dumb at all.

Us old farts gotta stick together.

Posts: 1570 | Location: Base of the Blue Ridge | Registered: 04 November 2002Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post