Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Static, please help
 Login/Join

posted
Hi all I am new to reloading and i just got my new rcbs reloading kit. There is a problem with static electricity builing up in my powder dispenser. What can I do to get rid of the static. Thanks. By the way this an awesome forum.

One of Us
Picture of br6ppc1
posted Hide Post
Take a dryer fabric softener sheet; i.e. Bounce, etc. and wipe out the inside of the tube with it. This will help to eliminate static buildup. Keep one handy to use if static builds up again. I usually do this evertime I change powder. By the way, welcome to the bottomless money pit of reloading Big Grin. You made a great choice to start off with the RCBS master kit. That's what I started with about 15 yrs. ago.

Posts: 92 | Location: Eastman, GA | Registered: 05 January 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of arkypete
posted Hide Post
That's a problem that I've not encountered to any great degree. Maybe I've been lucky, the reloading bench or reloading machine was well gounded or well isolated.
You raised a question that I'd like to see an answer to, if there's a good way to ground the table, or at least the spot where the powder measure goes.
I, like you, look forward to this.
Jim

"Whensoever the General Government assumes undelegated powers, its acts are unauthoritative, void, and of no force." --Thomas Jefferson

Posts: 6173 | Location: Richmond, Virginia | Registered: 17 September 2000Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I have heard of people washing the dispenser with soap and water. Does this work? I would try it but i would be afraid that something might rust. Would it be okay to wash it with soap and water and then dry it with a hair-dryer or would the hair dryer cause more static? I love the rcbs kit, and i have spent so much more in supplies but it is well worth it.

one of us
Picture of Ol` Joe
posted Hide Post
Drier sheets work and are the easiest to use.