Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

over all case length
 Login/Join

posted
Hello all I'm very new to reloading , and for that matter owning somthing that can be reloaded....I have a TC .308 encore (s.s.) My father and I have been checking out verios bullets loaded in winchester brass along with diffrent powders... and found that some were better than others ...but nothing was grooping very well at all then we pulled out some stuff left at one of my uncles apartments, checked it for all the data we could get by tearing them apart... I happend to shoot like a 1" group at 100yards from a bag with a 168 seira bthp ...but didnt know powder complete data like the name or any thing .. then found out We cant use them for hunting .. so I bought barnse 168 TSX wich I think will do well... but getting to my question your coal on them what should it be heres what I did... preped the casses primed them and pressed a bulet in one case covered it in marker and chambered it to see the markings of the lands... kept seating the bulet deeper a little at a time till it left a mark on the marker but not down to the copper... then measured its coal then subtracted .05 and made that my coal ..It is longer than any thing in the book by.055 how does this sound? mine is 2.915 and I made them 2.865 the book showes 2.81... is that for feeding purposes, will it help accuricy? ect

thanks in advance for the help

one of us
posted Hide Post
Slow down, and take a deep breath. Your question is very hard to read.

The OAL (over all length) shown in the manuals is such that the cartridge will feed in all rifles factory chambered for the cartridge. You are also correct that exceeding the OAL spec is normal in single shot weapons (as long as your not jamming the lands). 1/10 bullet diameter (.030) off the lands seems to be a sweet spot for most shooters.