Find
Notify
Tools

180 gn TSX in .30-'06
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Gents:
I'm new to handloading the TSX's and am not sure on bullet seating depth vs. C.O.L. Am I supposed to seat to the 3rd and final (closest to bullet tip) groove or load to a distance of the lands. I do not have a gauge to determine this. Any suggestions. Anything past 3.325" tends to be tight when I close the bolt, yet I believe M.O.L. is spec'd at 3.34" in Barnes and 3.321" in Lee reloading manuals. Not sure why the disparity, but any info would help. Thanks.
ScottW

SCI, NRA Life Member

Warm trails and blue skies!

One of Us
posted Hide Post
The grooves are only to reduce pressure. To determine seating length I usually partially size an empty case, seat a bullet in the case, but leave it long. Then put the case in the chamber and close the bolt (takes a bit of effort). Once you remove the case measure the overall length, and from there I usually seat the bullets about .02" deeper. I hear that Barnes bullets like to be seated more like .03 to .05" from the lands.

I'm not an expert on Barnes bullets, so maybe someone else can add better advise.

one of us
Picture of Doc
posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by ScottW:
Gents:
I do not have a gauge to determine this. Any suggestions.

Yes. Get one. You'll need it and they're cheap.

You'll find different recommendations on seating depth because every bullet is different, then you have the SAAMI standards.

What you need to do is find the absolute overall length with your bullet of choice, then reduce it to 50 thousandths off the lands of YOUR rifle to start, while using a Barnes bullet. Most of my rifles like the TSX about 5-10 thousandths off the lands.

Let us know what happens.

Ted Kennedy's car has killed more people than my guns

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Doc:
Which gauge do you recommend?

SCI, NRA Life Member

one of us
posted Hide Post