Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

cratered primers
 Login/Join

posted
hi folks, new member here. I have a question for the collective. I have been reloading for a couple years now and up until a couple weeks ago I haven't had any problems I couldn't find an answer to. Either in a reloading manual, in a forum, or even youtube. I recently bought a Thompson Center Venture bolt action .223 for target shooting. I put some of my ammo reloaded for my AR through it and it showed signs of over pressure. All my load data shows 25-27gn BL(C)2 for a 60 gn jacketed bullet, I am running 25.8gn. My AR loves this load. The primers were flattened and cratered in the bolt gun. The chrono showed 2934 fps avg. That is a 200 fps faster than my AR shoots these loads. I measured the fired cases to datum to get closer resize length thinking the cases were blowing back in the chamber. I reset the sizing die to press the shoulder back .003 from fired size. (It was pushing it back .011). I also measured the distance to the lands to make sure I wasn't jamming the bullet in. I now have about .001-.002 jump. The accuracy of this load is ~1 MOA @ 100 yds in this rifle. The primers are no longer flattened and I've never seen bolt face marks on the case head, but the primers are still cratered. Is it possible there's enough room around the firing pin to allow material to flow in making it appear as a craters edge? The bolt opens with the same resistance as with out a round chambered and the primers press out and in with good resistance. I am using assorted brass, Winchester SR primers. BL(C)2 powder and VMaxx 60 gn bullets. The rifle has a 22in barrel with 1:12 twist. I have pics, but can't see how to post them.

Posts: 6 | Location: NW Ohio | Registered: 21 December 2015Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
A picture is worth a thousand words.

posted Hide Post
OK, maybe I cans see how to post images. The top left was the first shot today in a clean barrel.

One of Us
posted Hide Post