Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Frustration 223-H322
 Login/Join

posted
Newbie here: I bought a cooper m21 223 and have yet to find a good load for it. and I have tried hard. Using BR 4 Primers 50 Gr. VMax
A good one would sure be appreciated.

one of us
posted Hide Post
Does the rifle shoot any ammo well (factory or reloads)?
My Cooper excels with Benchmark or H335 powders, usually behind Sierra 53gr MK or 55hpbt, but has done quite well with various 40-55 gr pills. I typically use Rem 7-1/2 or CCI BR4 primers.
A great "baseline" (and cheap) factory load is the Win USA white box 45gr HP..easily does .75" /5 shot groups from my Cooper. Might give it a try, and if it pukes that, contact Cooper!

Posts: 639 | Location: Central Texas | Registered: 28 March 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Hey Slay, H322 was always an excellent Powder in my 223Rem. Also H4895, WW-748 and BL-C2. But onc eI tried "Benchmark", it set a new Accuracy Standard for me.

When you were using H322, how did you go about Developing the Loads? Maybe it is something there.

Posts: 9920 | Location: Carolinas, USA | Registered: 22 April 2001Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
Used 748 originaly and 27 grns was quit good, however not very consistant.
As for trying to find a load:
Shoot from 200 yds looking for vertical changing 1/2 grn at at time to 24 grns. (hogdons max. rec.) Then proceeded to
100 with the best which was still 1" off vert. The best it has done is 1" with 23.2 grns of 322 with 50 grn vmax. I did find out this am that cooper is now using benchmark. 25.5 grns with 50 blitz...oh I do shoot moly as well.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
I've had good luck using Varget and 50gr Noslers and 55gr Sierras. 26.0 and 25.5gr respectively; primers are CCI's. My rifle is an H&R single-shot with a 1:12 twist, so I don't know whether that compares to your rifle or not.

Posts: 119 | Location: Phoenix | Registered: 05 December 2005Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
quote: