New
Find
Notify
Tools

P-FLR with Redding bushing die
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
Here is my question. I have a Redding Type S bushing full length resizing die. I acquired this plus the Neck and body die when I made a gun deal a while back. I was told to use the neck and body die to make my loads with. After reading on here about the P-FLR I want to go that route. Keep in mind I already own the Redding die. Can I P-FLR using the bushing die? And can I also do this without using the expander ball? The die came with the other tip so I have it. I have just read a lot of views about dragging the expander back through the neck and wanted to eliminate using it. I have very little experience with these dies so I am all ears on their use and my ideas in general. All help, ideas and tips are greatly appreciated!

WS

Posts: 94 | Location: Minnesota | Registered: 13 October 2003Reply With Quote
One of Us
Picture of woods
posted Hide Post
The Redding Bushing Dies work best without the expander ball and in conjunction with outside neck turning. The reason is that the bushing sizes the outside of the neck and pushes all the variances in neck thickness to the inside where they will effect bullet grip and release.

If you use the expander ball you might as well be using a FL die, would be a lot cheaper.

If you neck turn your brass to a consistant thickness and then use the bushing then you will get consistant inside and outside neck diameter.

You can PFLR in a 2 step process with a neck sizer and body die.

What kind of neck sizer do you have?

Chinese Proverb: When someone shares something of value with you and you benefit from it, you have a moral obligation to share it with others.

Posts: 2750 | Location: Houston, Tx | Registered: 17 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks Woods!