Find
Notify
Tools

Toughest Press??
 Login/Join

one of us
Picture of old4x4
posted
I have a Lyman Orange Crusher press that's about 10 yrs old, and owing to the fact that I like wildcats, I use it to form a fair amount of brass. Problem is, it's loose. About 2 yrs ago, I sent it back to them and they must've installed larger pins in re-reamed holes, but it's loose again.
I want a new single stage press that can take my sh1t. What's the toughest out there?? I'm not looking for a progressive press.
Oh yeah, I want the handle to be switchable (basically I like the LH side 'cause I'm a lefty. Thanks for any and all opinions....

Posts: 504 | Location: New Hampshire | Registered: 09 December 2001Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
While I'm rather new to re loading, I was always told the RCBS rock chucker damn near un-killable

Posts: 675 | Location: anchorage | Registered: 17 February 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
when i wanted to begin reloading my brother in law sold me a BAIR press. it was a c type single stage press that was built as if it were to be the first and last press you'd ever buy. a heavy, cast, durable, bullet proof, wonderful press. they came from lincoln neb. i've never seen such a heavy made press since. it has got to be the toughest press i've ever seen.

THE 2ND AMENDMENT PROTECTS US ALL...........

one of us
Picture of prof242
posted Hide Post
Got to go with the RCBS Rockchucher. Bought mine back in 1970 and its still going, going...(get that rabbit). I've loaded plenty of wildcats with some pretty heavy caseforming over the years, done a little custom commercial reloading, and plenty for varmints. Right now, I'm loading for four wildcats, my son's .300 RUM, my .375 H&H and a .416, plus 26 other calibers. It probably will be passed along to my son or one of my grandsons.

Posts: 3490 | Location: Colorado Springs, CO | Registered: 04 April 2003Reply With Quote
one of us
Picture of jpb
posted Hide Post