Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools

Loads wanted for 9x57 Mauser
 Login/Join

posted
I have just bought myself an old Mauser M98 in the even older caliber 9x57 Mauser. Does anyone out there have any form of reloading data for this caliber?
I mainly have the powders from Norma and Vihtavuori available, but I also have a can of Reloader 10x in my possession. All data are of interest.

Best regards

Posts: 9 | Location: Sweden | Registered: 10 December 2002Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
I bought a 1908-vintage Oberndorf Mauser in 9x57 last year -- I assume this is similar to your rifle? I started loading with 200 gr and 250 gr Hornady roundnose bullets in .358 diameter, because they have short bearing surfaces and I wanted to avoid pressure problems if the bore were in the .356 range. I have no experience with the Euro powders -- I've been using IMR 4320 and H335. I started with H414, but found it a bit too slow to produce good results.

Can you buy 9x57 brass? I have to make mine from 8x57, which isn't all that difficult, but adds a couple of steps.

In any event, I think the commercial Mausers are great old rifles and the 9x57 is a well-balanced cartridge for big game hunting.

Posts: 119 | Location: Ketchikan, AK USA | Registered: 20 January 2003Reply With Quote
posted Hide Post
I was told it was an old Obendorff Mauser, but my licens says Geco as manufacturer. I still have to pick it up from the seller to check. Anyway it did only cost me about $50 so

IMR 4320 fist nicely in between Norma 202 and Vihtavuori N-140. Just about the burning rate that I had in mind. I might be able to get some here in Sweden if I'm lucky.
May I venture a guess... If I start with about 40 grains IMR-4320 it sounds not too dangerous?
Do you mind to send me you starting loads, or hunting loads for that matter. I just have to know so I can calculate my on starting point.

About brass my easiest way is to get some 9,3x57 cases and just run them throug the dies - finished.