New
Find
Notify
Tools

Confused with Rem 700 VLS, 243 Win
 Login/Join

One of Us
posted
I have a Rem 700 VLS, nice gun, but it has me stumped.
It will shoot 55 gr. Nosler B-Tips under 45 gr. of Varget under .5MOA . I chronod these at just over 4000 fps.
However, with 90 gr. Swift Sciroccos under 42 gr. of IMR 4350, I get at best a 5" group.
Same goes for some factory loads I've tried in heavier bullets.

Remington says the bbl. has a 1 in 9 1/8 twist. Should it not be more inaccurate then with the light bullets, given a faster than normal twist?

I'm not an expert reloader, but have been doing this for about 25 years, so not a novice either, and this gun has me stumped. I've also tried to download the heavier bullets, no success.
Anyone ever have similar issues with this type of gun?

Posts: 99 | Location: SK,Canada | Registered: 25 March 2006Reply With Quote
one of us
posted Hide Post
Your rifle just does not like the Scirocco's. Try the 85 grain Sierra BTHP.

Leftists are intellectually vacant, but there is no greater pleasure than tormenting the irrational.

Posts: 2899 | Registered: 24 November 2000Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
Sparyandpray,

As Rick said, it is your gun. I have a VLS I have been shooting for 12 years that will shoot any thing into .5moa--sometimes less. Try a different bullet.

Posts: 36 | Location: greenville, sc | Registered: 27 January 2005Reply With Quote
One of Us
posted Hide Post
I also have a 243 VLS, I have not found a bullet over 85grs that it will shoot well( under 1.5 ins). I just ordered 90 B-tips , should be here in a couple of days and I will let you know. My VLS also shoots the 85gr seirra hpbt very well, but its performance on deer, unfortunitly caused me to not use it on game anymore.

One of Us
posted Hide Post
Thanks for the replies . I would like to stay away from HP's for larger game. I bought this as kind of a dual purpose gun. Varmint and up to deer size critters.